Awards open to NM journalists

We’re proud of your work. It’s time to show it off.

As a service to journalists working throughout New Mexico, your SPJ chapter maintains this page of awards that are open to media professionals and students in our state. Did we miss an award? Email and we’ll add a link. Not yet a member of SPJ-Rio Grande? Click here for information and how to join.

Top of the Rockies

Deadline: Jan. 26

Top of the Rockies is a regional, multi-platform contest for reporters and news organizations in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. The awards recognize the best in regional print, broadcast and online journalism from 2018. For more information and to register, visit this page.

New Mexico Press Women 2019 Communications Contest

Deadline: Jan. 9 or Jan. 22 with a late fee

New Mexico Press Women recognizes excellence in print or electronic media, books, photography, advertising, public relations, graphic arts, blogs/websites, and academic journalism throughout New Mexico. You don’t have to be a member of NMPW to participate in this open competition. Click here for information on how to apply.

International Center for Journalists Bringing Home the World Fellowship

Deadline: Jan. 15

The program allows U.S. minority journalists to complete a two-week foreign reporting project that resonates with their audiences at home. Journalists selected will attend an orientation in Washington, DC, before their reporting tour, where they receive expert feedback on their projects as well as training on staying secure in the field and working with translators and fixers.

To apply, visit this page. (See also: Proposal guidelines and application tips)

Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma

Deadline: Jan. 30

This award honors innovative, ethical and effective reporting on the impact of violence, crime, disaster and other traumatic events, focusing on the experiences of victims and survivors and contributing to public understanding of trauma-related issues. Two prizes of $5,000 each will be given this year.

For more information visit this page. (See also: Entry guidelines)

National Association of Science Writers Science in Society Awards

Deadline: Feb. 1

These awards provide recognition — without subsidy from any professional or commercial interest — for investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on modern society. NASW especially encourages entries of critical, probing pieces that would not receive an award from a special interest group.

For more information visit this page.